North Star® Boxwood

Buxus sempervirens 'Katerberg'

SKU: 07725

Size: One Quart
More information on plant sizes.
Price:
Sale price$21.99
Stock:
In stock

Description

Soil:

Evenly moist, well-drained soil. Boxwood grows well in soils that are slightly acidic to slightly alkaline

Light:

Sun (>6+ hours sun/day) to part sun (4-6 hours sun) to shade (< 4 hours sun). Boxwood can grow well in a variety of part-shade situations, including open sun-dappled conditions or light shade with several hours of morning sun or early afternoon sun. Plants can grow in close to full shade but typically are less vigorous and more open with decreased foliage density. When grown in full sun, plant foliage is more likely to scorch, bronze in winter, or suffer from mite attacks.

Water:

Average water needs: keep soil evenly moist.

Fertilizing:

Roots appreciate a good organic (e.g., bark or compost) mulch (1-2″). Apply a balanced fertilizer, such as a 10-10-10 ratio fertilizer, or slow-release fertilizer (such as Osmocote), after the second year of growth by spreading it evenly over the surface of the soil (follow label directions) and watering it in.

Winterizing:

Boxwood is best suited in locations sheltered from strong winds, with, if possible, some protection from full winter sun. Foliage may bronze in winter when exposed to half-day to full-day sun. Winter winds can remove moisture from leaves at a rapid rate, often resulting in dehydration and bronzing. Carefully remove heavy snow accumulations as quickly as practicable to minimize stem/branch damage.

Maintenance & Pruning:

Plants are generally tolerant of pruning and shearing. Pruning should never be done prior to the last spring frost date. Pruning too early in spring often promotes tender new growth that may be damaged or killed by a late spring frost. Avoid cultivating around plants because they have shallow roots.
NO RISK 60 DAY GUARANTEE

We've got you covered with our 60-day guarantee. We guarantee that your plants will arrive healthy, free of pests and diseases, and true to name.

Have a problem with your plant? We make it easy to place a claim via email or use the chat bubble. Simply send us a photo of your plant, your order number, and a brief description of the problem within 60 days of receipt of your order. Orders from US are eligible for refund or replacement; Canadian orders are eligible only for refunds. All refunds are based on the plant cost and do not include shipping charges. Allow up to 2 weeks for processing refunds.

After 60 days, we cannot be responsible for the plants in your care and will not cover problems with overwintering, animals, insects, diseases, improper planting, drought, flooding, poor drainage, etc. Our goal is that you are successful with our plants (and gardening in general), so our expert staff is here to assist you with any problem you may experience.

Any plant shipped dormant in spring is guaranteed to break dormancy, even if it takes longer than 60 days.

Please note: our guarantee does not cover plants grown outside of their recommended growing zones. Verify your USDA zone by clicking 'Growing Zone' in the site navigation and entering your zip code before purchasing.

FALL GUARANTEE – SHIPPING FROM SEPTEMBER 1 – END OF FALL SEASON

Did you receive an order after September 1? If so, it falls under our fall guarantee. We want to ensure your plants establish in your garden and return the following spring. Therefore, the warranty on your plants is extended to May 31 the next year. Ensure you contact us with images, your order number, and a description of the problem before May 31.

OUR ROBUST PLANTS

We ship plants with hefty root systems that outperform smaller plants obtained from other mail-order nurseries.

SHORTAGES/DAMAGES

We take great pride in our packaging.  Please contact us immediately for any damaged boxes or shortages.  (Please note: multiple boxes shipped by Fed Ex might not always arrive the same day)

DORMANT PLANTS

Any plant shipped dormant in the spring is guaranteed to break dormancy even if it takes more than one month. Call us directly if you have any concerns.

PHOTOS

Photos of the plant(s) will be required so that we may provide the best assistance possible

REFUNDS

A plant refund is based on the plant cost less discounts and shipping charges.  Allow up to 2 weeks for processing. We reserve the right to request a return of an item.

PRODUCT CARE

After 60 days, we cannot be responsible for product that is in your care. This includes overwintering, animals, insects, diseases, poor planting, plants beyond their hardiness zone, drought, flooding, etc. Our expert staff is here to assist you with any problem you may be experiencing. Our goal is that you are successful with our product.

Customer Reviews

Based on 15 reviews
73%
(11)
20%
(3)
7%
(1)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
j
jill b.
Healthy plants

Plants arrived well packaged and very healthy. All six plants are planted and showing new growth already. I am very pleased with my purchase and will definitely shop here again. Thank you! Jill B.

P
P.
Boxwoods

Plants Doing fine thank you

E
Eugene C.
Healthy, but small.

Nice plants, but only 9" tall. Considering I'm pushing 80, I guess that makes me an optimist.

Hello! We're sorry that you're unsatisfied with your plants. We do note that all of our plants are young on each product page and on our plant sizes page https://www.greatgardenplants.com/pages/sizes.The size and maturity of the plants varies widely depending on the time of the year you purchased and if they were recently trimmed. The important thing when it comes to purchasing plants, whether online or in a garden center, is that they have a full, robust root system, and that's what we prioritize in our greenhouses.The more roots a plant has, the more energy it can put into growing once it is planted in your garden. We do keep our plants trimmed to encourage strong root development!

A
A.D.
Great root system

I bought 4 of these for my front yard. Struggled to get them out of the cans because they were INTENSELY rooted. Very satisfied with the quality of these little plants.

S
S.
Disappointed

The size of the plants received is extremely disappointing for the price. Even with a discount, the shrubs are nothing more than a few twigs. Aside from the overpriced size, the plants did arrive healthy.

I'm sorry you are not satisfied with your plants!

We do note that all of our plants are young on each product page and on our plant sizes page (found here). The size and maturity of the plants varies widely depending on the time of the year you purchased and if they were recently trimmed. The important thing when it comes to purchasing plants, whether online or in a garden center, is that they have a full, robust root system, and that's what we prioritize in our greenhouses.

The more roots a plant has, the more energy it can put into growing once it is planted in your garden. We do keep our plants trimmed to encourage strong root development!

You may also like